CHRISTIAN

back to wishes
Home > Wishes > Christian
 
 

17 JULY 2014

On 14th and 15th July we undertook our first WISH Assist, welcoming Christian and his family from Missouri, USA.

Christian, age 18 and diagnosed with leukemia, dreamt of following in the footsteps of General George Smith Patton, Jr., a respected WWII leader who commanded US troops in Germany, France, Luxembourg and Belgium. Tragically, Patton died following a car accident near Speyer in Germany on 21st December 1945, with his body being laid to rest at the American War Cemetery and Memorial in Hamm.

After travelling across the Atlantic Ocean, the family's first stop was France, followed by Luxembourg where the weather brightened up for their arrival. Christian, his sister and parents enjoyed a walking tour of Luxembourg City on the evening of their arrival, taking in many of its wonderful sights.

Next day it was off to the General Patton Memorial Museum in Ettelbruck, along with the Patton Monument and Town Hall. No visit by a US citizen would be complete without a trip to the US Embassy, where Ambassador Mandell and his wife Julie hosted lunch and the family got to view WWII artefacts.

The last trip of the day was to the American War Cemetery and Memorial where 5,075 American service members are laid to rest along with General George Smith Patton, Jr.. Christian was privileged to have the honor of lowering the American flag flying over the cemetery, which was presented to him along with a plaque to take back home. After paying his respects, Christian and his family were whisked away to Luxembourg airport after their whistle stop tour. Next stop: Germany!

We thoroughly enjoyed showing Christian and his family around Luxembourg and being able to assist with his WISH. We wish him all the best for the future and hope he has some wonderful memories to take back to the United States.

Kanner Wonsch Luxembourg would like to thank the following for their assistance in helping to make Christian’s wish a dream come true:

Ambassador Mandell and his wife Julie Mandell; American War Cemetery and Memorial; DJ General Patton Memorial Museum, Ettelbruck; The Cravat Hotel; Ettelbruck Tourist Office; Quadriga (Wagener, Mr & Mrs and Mayers, Romain) WWII vehicles !!

 

 

Kanner Wonsch Luxembourg SC
Société d’Impact Sociétal (SIS)

Phone: +352-314.595 (24h/24h)

Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/kannerwonsch/

Registre de Commerce et des Sociétés B231935

Agrément du Ministère de l’Economie sociale et solidaire : N° 2019-01

BANK: POST Luxembourg
BIC: CCPLLULL
IBAN: LU28 1111 7342 1623 0000

Newsletter
Receive our digital newsletter.
38
Wishes
granted

CHRISTIAN

RETOUR AUX VOEUX
ACCUEIL > VOEUX > CHRISTIAN
 
 

17 JUILLET 2014

Christian, âgé de 18 ans et qui a été diagnostiqué leucémique, rêve de suivre les pas du Général George Smith Patton Jr., un leader américain respecté, commandant des troupes américaines en Allemagne, France, Luxembourg et Belgique pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Malheureusement, Patton est décédé suite à un accident de voiture près de Speyer en Allemagne le 21 Décembre 1945, son corps étant inhumé au cimetière militaire américain (Luxembourg American Cemetery and Memorial) à Hamm.

Après avoir voyagé à travers l'océan Atlantique, le premier arrêt des familles a été la France, suivi par le Luxembourg, où le temps s'est éclairci pour leur arrivée. Christian, sa sœur et leurs parents ont bénéficié d'une visite guidée à pied le soir de leur arrivée, en passant par de nombreux et merveilleux sites touristiques du Luxembourg.

Le lendemain, il partait pour le 'General Patton Memorial Museum' à Ettelbruck, près du monument Patton et de la mairie. Aucune visite faite par un citoyen des États-Unis ne serait pas complète, sans une visite à l'ambassade des États-Unis où l'ambassadeur Mandell et sa femme Julie ont accueilli la famille avec un déjeuner où ils ont également pu voir des objets de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Le dernier voyage de la journée était le cimetière militaire américain (American War Cemetery and Memorial), où 5.075 militaires américains sont inhumés aux côtés du général George Smith Patton Jr.. Christian a eu le privilège et l'honneur d'abaisser le drapeau américain, qui ondoyait au-dessus du cimetière, qui lui a été ensuite présenté avec une plaque qu’il pourra ramener à la maison. Après avoir présenté leurs hommages, Christian et sa famille ont été emmené à l'aéroport de Luxembourg après leur court séjour. Prochain arrêt: l’Allemagne!

Nous avons vraiment apprécié d’avoir montré le Luxembourg à Christian et à sa famille et d’avoir été en mesure d'aider pour la réalisation de son vœu. Nous lui souhaitons tout le meilleur pour l'avenir et nous espérons qu'il a eu de merveilleux souvenirs à ramener aux États-Unis.


Nous tenons à remercier les personnes suivantes pour leur aide à la réalisation de son vœu:

L’ambassadeur Mandell et sa femme Julie Mandell American War Cemetery and Memorial - DJ General Patton Memorial Museum, Ettelbruck Hôtel Cravat Office de Tourisme d’Ettelbruck Quadriga (Wagener, M. et Mme et Mayers, Romain) - véhicules de la Seconde Guerre mondiale

 

Kanner Wonsch Luxembourg SC
Société d’Impact Sociétal (SIS)

Téléphone: +352-314.595 (24h/24h)

Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/kannerwonsch/

Registre de Commerce et des Sociétés B231935

Agrément du Ministère de l’Economie sociale et solidaire : N° 2019-01

BANQUE: Banque et Caisse d'Epargne de l'Etat 
BIC: BCEELULL
IBAN: LU56 0019 5355 1687 0000

Newsletter
Recevez par mail notre newsletter.
23
VOEUX
accordés